Backward Classes Welfare Department established a new Society in the name of MAHATMA JYOTIBA PHULE TELANGANA BACKWARD CLASSES WELFARE RESIDENTIAL EDUCATIONAL INSTITUTIONS SOCIETY (MJPTBCWREIS) in the year 2012 with a view to bring the Backward Classes educationally on par with other developed communities and to achieve a just and egalitarian Society.


The first Residential School started by the Government of Telangana at Sarvail in Nalgonda District to cater the needs of Telangana pupils during 1971-72 in the buildings and land donated by Sarvodaya Trust Board. To facilitate the maintenance of Residential Schools free from the normal restraints in Government Department, the Government have constituted T.G. Residential Schools Society (Regd.), Hyderabad during April, 1972 and permitted the opening of 2 more Residential Schools in the other two Regions in the State at Tadikonda in Guntur district and Kodigenahalli in Anantapur. Later the Government have decided to extend the scheme to Intermediate level and permitted the opening of a Residential Junior College at Nagarjunasagar in 1975. At present the Society is managing 123 schools, 13 Junior Colleges and 1 Degree College, 220 KGBVs as shown below

At present the MJPTBCWREIS running 50 Residential Schools and one Junior College which 29 meant for Boys 21 meant for Girls. Out of the 50 institutions, 5 institutions located at Amalapuram, East Godavari, Mopidevi, Krishna, Golagamudi, SPSR Nellore, and Kowdipally Medak meant for the children of fishermen. The medium of instruction in these institutions is English. The Society institutions providing Residential education to BC/SC/ST/EBC proportionately.

This Society is located now at Lakshmi Estates, Abids Hyderabad. It has a body of Governors to regulate the entity. The Vice Chairman/Principal Secretary to Government, BC Welfare Department and the Secretary of the Society under the able direction of its Minister/Chairman play a vital role for its functioning.

Department Links